In 1987 a number of property owners in Westminster saw advantage in presenting views collectively to Westminster City Council. Discussions were held with the then Leader of the Council, other key elected members and appropriate senior officers.

As a result the City Council for their part made it clear that they saw value in obtaining considered collective views on property matters from a single responsible body. Following discussions between a number of high profile Westminster Property Owners and Westminster City Council, on 1st January 1988 the Westminster Property Owners Association was formed. The Association would be a single, responsible, body there to represent the views of these owners and the property industry.

Past Chairmen

2016-2017 NEIL THOMPSON - Great Portland Estates
2013-2016 DANIEL VAN GELDER - Exemplar
2013-2013 GILES CLARKE - Grosvenor
2011-2013 DAVID SILVERMAN - Derwent London PLC
2009-2011 ROBERT NOEL - Land Securities Group PLC
2008-2009 HUGH SEABORN - The Portman Estate
2006-2008 ROBERT HESKETT - Land Securities Group PLC
2004-2006 NIGEL KEMPNER - Benchmark (later Grafton Advisors)
2002-2004 COLIN REDMAN - Grosvenor
2000-2002 MARTIN MOORE - Prudential
1998-2000 JOHN BURNS - Derwent Valley plc
1996-1998 IAN HENDERSON CBE - Land Securities Group PLC
1994-1996 JEREMY NEWSUM - Grosvenor
1991-1992 CHRISTOPHER J M DONALD - Trafalgar House
1990-1991 RON SPINNEY - Greycoat plc
1989-1990 STANLEY R COGGAN - Grosvenor
1988-1989 RICHARD LOFTUS - Loftus Family Property